An aesthetician is a licensed beauty professional who has completed the required education and training to perform a range of specialized skin treatments and services in a spa or salon. Students attending Tricoci University of Beauty Culture’s aesthetics program can choose between three main areas of interest. These include skin care, makeup, and holistic/spa services.
The skills you’ll learn in a certified aesthetician program will prepare you for a career as a facialist, medi-spa aesthetician, waxing specialist, makeup artist, or a body treatment specialist.
No matter where you choose to obtain your aesthetician license, it’s important to know what requirements are needed. These requirements often vary from one state to another. Continue reading to learn more about what it takes to become a licensed aesthetician in Wisconsin.
Do I Need an Aesthetician License in Wisconsin?
Yes, the state of Wisconsin requires individuals to obtain a license to work as an aesthetician. You must complete an approved aesthetician program consisting of at least 450 hours of training (Tricoci University’s full-time, licensed aesthetician program includes 600 hours of training). You also need to pass both written and practical examinations to secure an aesthetician license.
The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services regulates aesthetician licensure in the state. Its Cosmetology Examining Board approves programs and sets guidelines.
Aesthetician vs. Esthetician: What’s the Difference?
Aesthetician and esthetician are both terms used to describe someone who has a license to perform skin treatments and services at a spa or salon. In Wisconsin, aesthetician is the license for someone who works in this profession. Elsewhere on the Tricoci University website you may encounter esthetician, as that spelling variation is used in other states where Tricoci operates.
Aesthetician Licensing Requirements in Wisconsin
What does it take to become an aesthetician in Wisconsin? Let’s review the aesthetician licensing requirements for those looking to obtain their license in the state.
To obtain an aesthetician license in Wisconsin you must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED certificate. You will also need to pass an aesthetician exam. In order to qualify to take the exam in Wisconsin, you first need 450 hours of education and training.
You can receive those 450 hours of education and training by enrolling in a cosmetology school’s aesthetician program. Tricoci University has a campus in Janesville, Wisconsin, that provides the education, training, and tools you need to pass the required written and practical exams.
You need a minimum of 450 hours of training to get your aesthetician license in Wisconsin. Additionally, state law requires students to complete the required 450 training hours in “not less than 11 weeks and not more than 30 weeks in a school of cosmetology or aesthetics.”
Tricoci University’s aesthetics curriculum requires an additional 150 hours* of practical, hands-on training beyond the minimum hours required by the state for a total of 600 hours of training. This means that completing the aesthetics program at Tricoci University in the appropriate timeframe takes approximately 15 weeks for full-time students. At this time, Tricoci University’s Janesville, Wisconsin, campus does not offer a part-time aesthetician program option for students.
Toward the end of your aesthetics program at Tricoci University, a staff member will review all steps that need to be taken so you can sit for your board examination and obtain your license. Note that in Wisconsin you must take and pass both written and practical examinations.
*At Tricoci University, we believe that the additional 150 hours of practical training time is necessary because it gives students time to practice advanced techniques on student clinic/spa guests. This benefits the student by better preparing them for a career as an aesthetician.
As an aesthetician working in Wisconsin, you will need to renew your license every two years. March 31 is the renewal date for aesthetician licenses (on odd numbered years).
The state of Wisconsin currently charges $11 for a two-year aesthetician license renewal*. A late fee of $25 will be added to your total if you don’t renew your license by March 31. If your license has expired and it has been five years or more, you will need to retake the state licensing exam.
As of December 2017, the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) no longer requires the need for continuing education hours as a condition of license renewal.
*Aesthetics license renewal pricing and conditions are subject to change.
Contact the State Board
You can direct any questions about Wisconsin’s aesthetician licensing requirements to the Wisconsin Cosmetology Examining Board through the official government website. You can also visit the Aesthetics section of the same website to learn more about state requirements. The admissions team at Tricoci University is always happy to answer your questions, as well.
Enrolling in Aesthetician Training in Wisconsin
Tricoci University of Beauty Culture is a popular option for people interested in attending cosmetology school in Wisconsin to obtain their aesthetician license. Students that enroll in our courses gain all the skills they need to be successful in the early stages of their career.